Environment Builder
    • Dark
      Light

    Environment Builder

    • Dark
      Light

    Article Summary

    Overview

    Environment Builder is a feature in Factory Build that empowers process experts to configure Lines, including setting time offsets and the asset display order. Create a Digital Twin of the entire factory through an intuitive drag-and-drop interface. Get a holistic view of the multi-layered interdependencies across assets, lines, and processes, allowing you to take actionable insights.

    • Specify time offsets between machines, which allows for a more accurate representation of their place in the line.

    • Create lines and pipelines that are workspace-bound, which allows for faster iteration.

    • Work in a dynamic environment without waiting for data sets to become available.

    Navigation

    Similar to the way you use other Data Foundation tools, you can access Environment Builder through Workspaces in Factory Build. 

    To enter Environment Builder, click Lines on any Workspace version. 

    Environment Builder has two main pages:

    • A map of all of the facilities for this environment

    • A facility page that shows the facility‚Äôs lines and machines

    These pages have both graphical views and table views that support the workflows described below.

    Edit and Publish Workflow

    To edit only the Lines, without making any changes to the Pipeline as well, edit the Published version. To edit both the Lines and the Pipeline, create a new version to edit.

    When you are finished configuring the Lines, you can publish your changes from the Workspaces home page. 

    If you edited the Published version, Publish this version again for your changes to take effect. 

    If you edited a separate version, you can Compare it with the Published version to see whether any other user has edited the Published version. If there are other changes to the Published version, you can continue with the Compare & Merge workflow to combine both sets of changes and then Publish the resulting version.

    When you Publish, the version that you Published is then used by Factory Analyze for all users by default.